top of page

ARCHIVE: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

I'm a Bit Late....

I am a bad barn-mate. I forget to bring Christmas gifts to the clinic and then don't come back to the barn until after Christmas is over. To compensate for my suckage, I made my own horse cookies to give to all of Dancer's friends.

horsetreats.JPG

They're pretty damn rad. Guess who the two in the ziplock are for? Lol

Here's the recipe, if you're interested, which I doubled and adapted from We Cook and Drink Together. It gave me enough for 34 generous cookies.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup of steel cut oats 3/4 cup of molasses 1/2 cup of flour 2 teaspoons cornstarch A spit of water to make it stir

Candy canes for pretty :)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and set up some baking sheets. Either grease them like crazy or use Silpats. if you bake, they'll change your life.

  2. Mix the molasses and oats until they're combined, and then mix in the flour and cornstarch. The original recipe said "gradually," but they're horse treats, so I said fuck it. I added a splash of water to motivate things to combine better.

  3. Scoop the mix out into tiny balls and/or blobs on the pan; I did 3x4 for a total of 12, but they do spread out a bit.

  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes, depending on how bug they are. Mine are a little bigger than my palm and I did them for 17 minutes, but dropped the time to 15 on smaller cookies. Just eyeball it.

  5. When they're done, pull them out and immediately press candy canes into the tops. Separate the ones that spread together with a thin spatula and let them cool.

  6. Feed to ponies and be careful not to lose any fingers.

bottom of page